Returns and Reunions

As I noted in my last post, I have often moved between my interests, my passions, never fully committing to one, abandoning one for the other…It has been an exhausting and in some ways damaging course to follow. This morning while reading Pema Chodron’s No Time To Lose I read:

Nevertheless, by reinforcing old habits and obstructing the yearning to grow, we slow down our progress considerably. The habit of vacillating has consequences. We fell increasingly restless and dissatisfied; and we begin to regard ourselves as procrastinators, losers, people who never get anything done.

These have been some of the prices I’ve paid for my lack of determination, my intellectual fickleness, and my impatience. Yet, now, having my awareness return to these challenges they themselves diminish in stature. I sit and settle in and experience whatever surfaces.

And just moments ago, my wife expressed her wish for us to start our day together in meditation.

 

~ by nightfruit on July 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
