Self aware; Self despair

I’ve worn myself out, and from the reading I’ve been doing lately of Jungians I’m right on schedule! My persona, hard-won and resilient is wearing thin and something more essentially me is showing through. My customary habits are tattered, and I note with a sickening awareness their insincerity, hollowness, and lack of compassion.

I’m not so naive anymore to think I can rid myself of these burdensome masks all at once. With practice–and here I mean with attention, I may be able to emerge as something different, kinder, more patient…somewhat less of what I now recognize as my self.

~ by nightfruit on July 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
